TSA Results

Nitya Jagarlauudi, Guest Writer

Article 1:

LHS TSA recently held their speech contest this past week to see who would represent our school in the speaking events at TSA contest.They will now be able to compete at the regional contest in February. Congratulations to the following students for being selected:

In Extemporaneous Speech: 1st place Carly Snyder, 2nd place Hyndavi Jata, 3rd place Rachna Edalur

In Prepared Speech: 1st place Carly Snyder, 2nd place Gowri Rangu, 3rd place Rachna Edalur

Article 2:

LHS TSA attended their Regional Leadership Conference on October 23, 2019. Along with Nacogdoches High School and Carthage High School, our students have helped welcome new chapters into the region. Our very own State Treasurer, Gowri Rangu, and Regional Secretary, Nitya Jagarlamudi, ran a station that helped other students develop qualities needed for teamwork. Regional Reporter Harrison Taylor ran a station that developed the students speaking skills. Students Neha Nirmal and Rachna Edalur were elected this year’s Regional President and Vice President respectively. We are now planning our trip to the State Leadership Conference in Kerrville where we will encounter students from all over the state.

Article 3:

LHS TSA recently attended the TSA state leadership conference in Kerrville, TX. Officer Gowri Rangu, along with the rest of the state officer team, worked hard to make this trip successful. The TSA members in attendance participated in leadership and team building activities. They also got the opportunity to collaborate with chapter presidents from all over the state of Texas and attend a glow bash with all the other Texas TSA members!

Article 4:

To achieve the Lone Star Degree, one must make a score of 70 or higher on a 25 question exam testing their knowledge of the current TSA officers, bylaws, and the foundation of TSA. To achieve the Texan Degree, one must make a score of 85 or higher on a 50 question exam over the same concepts. Congratulations to the following LHS TSA members for achieving these degrees. 

Lone Star Degree: Iniabasi Ekpenyong, Neha Nirmal, & Otibhor Ihionkhan

Texan Degree: Rachna Edalur